Our Best Needs Grace: Expecting or Accepting?

I’ve been going on morning walks lately and have noticed quite a difference for the tone of the rest of my day.

Going on morning walks and interacting with people bright and early, having the opportunity to ask them how they’re doing allows for me to remember how special and unique each person is. Every one of us has a story to tell. 

The last day of my job was on Friday and I’ve been applying to other jobs and waiting to hear back. Today, on KLove a song came on that really resonated with how I feel during this season of change: 

You brought me this far so why would I question You now
You have provided so why would I start to doubt
I’ve never been stranded, abandoned or left here to fight alone
So I’m giving You control

I lift my life, lift my life up
I give it all in surrender
I lift my heart, lift my heart up
You can have it forever
All my dreams, all my plans
Lord I leave it in Your hands
I lift my life, lift my life up

Have Your way in me

If peace is a river then let it sweep over me
If I’m under fire I know it’s refining me
When I hear You calling out I follow now wherever the road may go
I know You’re leading me home

I lift my life, lift my life up
I give it all in surrender
I lift my heart, lift my heart up
You can have it forever
All my dreams, all my plans
Lord I leave it in Your hands
I lift my life, lift my life up

Have Your way in me

Take my life and let it be all for You

By Unspoken


I really try my best for these lyrics to hold true in my life. I’ve been learning that my best effort looks much different than your best effort and other people’s best effort. I’m learning not to compare myself to others since we are all at different places and stages in our lives; with different goals and gifts.

Since we all come from different backgrounds, experiences, goals, etc. I am also learning the importance of not having expectations in relationships with others. Often times, I catch myself hoping, and even sometimes expecting, for something to happen out of a friendship or relationship with a family member. And I’m learning that expecting things can quickly lead to disappointment, rather than peace and contentment. This year, I found that more than ever before, I really hoped for people to gracefully accept me for where I was in life, and for them to hopefully not expect anything because there were days when I felt very mentally weak and inconsistent with my best effort.  I’m really blessed to have received loved and acceptance from family and friends. And I hope to show them the same sort of love in return! 

Categories: Prayer

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 replies

  1. Thank you for this. Such important, seemingly simple life guidelines, yet not comparing ourselves to others is not easy. My best varies tremendously day to day due to “clinical depression” I must not compare today’s best with yesterday’s as well. Some days I fly with ease and flowing creative energy. Some days I must celebrate that I managed to brush my teeth. This is the journey The Lord has chosen for me and I am not always privy to the details that would give me understanding. Acceptance and relating, rather than comparing is, no doubt, the path to peace.
    Sarah

    Like

  2. Hello Sarah! I hear ya! Thanks for relating with me! I find myself often times posting things that do seem like simple life guidelines. For example, to “Love one another” This sounds so clear and concise, but to truly grasp what it means to love someone is a never-ending, beautifully imperfect process that can be refined, but never be perfected; especially since love to one person means something completely different to someone else; and both view points should be honored. Good thing we have God, who understands everyone’s hearts! ❤

    Like

    • Thank you for responding and this message as well, we are kindred spirits!! And yes, Thanks be to God indeed. I’ll be following you as I need these reminders of the “simple” things, for they are not so simple. All things are different to all beings, I strive to maintain that understanding that I may live peacefully amongst my fellow human’s.
      Sarah

      Like

  3. Hello again, this is in response to “who has the paper and pen” (I can’t get to “reply” from there!?)
    Beautiful!! Thank you. I shall keep, print and post this where I can read it daily. This is indeed what I need, most days. As for raw emotion, I do need to spit that out to have peace, it is too heavy to carry around and blocks my faith.
    My past is littered with more violence, assaults, rapes, attempted homocides, etc. than the average combined 10 people will experience in their lifetimes. The most confusing part of this being that, as a younger person, I was wild to say the least, put myself in extremely dangerous situations on a regular basis, yet all of the trauma I sustained, occurred when I was paying attention, acting like a human with some sense, and there-by, a case of being in the wrong place at the wrong time. I’d come to believe that I was evil, that God (as hard as I tried, I could not be atheist) had damned me (I used to “joke” that I must’ve killed a Pope in a past life, my karma was so bad!). When I was thoroughly disrespecting this gift from God that is me, I was safe, and when I was not abusing myself, some one else would horribly abuse me!!
    It took decades, a great deal of courage, time, strength, and many wonderful people that were put in my path, but I finally got sober and slowly came to believe that God loved me, that the lessons of these experiences would be revealed as God saw fit, and this has been my experience (I must be honest and not hold back the fact that I have not walked this journey gracefully, or without relapse and outright defiance on many occasions!). God knew that I was a hard case, and patiently stayed with me, as I slowly came around.
    One quick story of how the lessons have been revealed- I am a 2 time survivor of violent rape and suffered with PTSD for decades. My Father was a Korean War front line combat vet. I am the middle child of 5, and my Father’s preferred target, he almost killed me more times than I can count. I’ll never forget my extreme disgust when, in therapy, with a wonderful group of women, I was forced to admit, that, despite all, I loved him! As I aged and opened communication with my Dad, I met his buddies at the VFW and was struck with the awareness that, compared to these brave men, my PTSD was miniscule. This awareness came just a few years prior to Dad’s death, and as we waited for him to go after having “unplugged” him, my siblings and my Mother were filled with anger, rage actually, and outwardly expressing it. I found my self capable of allowing them to speak their hatred (while wanting to scream “SHUT U”, but I knew that rage and the importance of releasing it), and when the moment came, I heard myself saying ” I made peace with Daddy some years ago and I never knew that I could experience gratitude to the depth that I feel in this very moment”. I had been raped so that I could come to understand that my Father’s attacks on me were a symptom of his PTSD, and God had made me strong enough to endure this so Dad could find peace!!! An odd, yet beautiful gift.
    Please keep sharing, my new friend. I, for one, greatly appreciate it.
    With Love and Peace,
    Sarah

    Like

  4. Hello Sarah,

    You are such a gift and light in this world. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    I believe that God has brought us together on here intentionally. If you feel comfortable, please email me at gold5megan@gmail.com. I hope to have more fellowship with you. I feel lost many times and can often have difficulty finding peace and joy with following God. Sometimes I’m ashamed of the difficulty I face. Therefore, I originally decided to delete the post: “Who has the paper and pen”. Your encouraging words inspired me to re-blog the post. I find such importance and beauty in expressing our truest thoughts – regardless of if the thoughts look good, bad, ugly, or anything in between.

    You are a strong and beautiful woman, my new friend. I feel very blessed to have gotten to meet you through this.

    Love,
    Megan

    Like

Share your thoughts

